Talk with Bénédicte Le Pimpec,
curator and art critic,
as part of ACROSS#4

Monday 16 November – at 7:00PM
Galerie Le 22
22 rue de Dijon
06 Nice – FR

In 2015, thankyouforcoming sets up a series of short residencies for critics and curators in Nice.
The ACROSS (scenes de province) program is a collaborative, participative and experimental project which aims to bring a special kind of exposure to different artistic scenes and raises questions about uses of mobility. 

A NATION AT RISK

A NATION AT RISK is a presentation of Bénédicte Le Pimpec’s interests on the appropriation of historical narratives by contemporary artists and more particularly by the collective REPOhistory.

Established in 1989 in Manhattan by a group of artists, teachers, activists and historians interested in the writing and the representation of historical narratives, REPOhistory developed about ten projects in New York, Houston and Atlanta up to the early 2000s. Using maps, streets signs, exhibitions and local media to make circulate stories of forgotten men and women, they developed writing and transmission strategies through collective and participatory action that challenged the “classic” ways of writing historical narratives.

Bénédicte Le Pimpec, curator and art critic 

Bénédicte le Pimpec (born in 1986, France, lives and works in Geneva, Switzerland) studied Visual Arts at the European Art School in Brittany (2009) followed by a master in Curatorial Studies and Research at the HEAD (University of Art and Design – Geneva, 2011).

She curated or co-curated the exhibitions “Pastel is the colour of the defeat” a long-term research and exhibition project with the Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, that explored the history of alternative art spaces and artistic production in the Geneva region (Broom Social Club, Geneva, 2011), “The Galápagos Principle” (Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2013) a three month evolving exhibition with about twenty artists, objects, movies or performances appearing in different places inside and outside of the Palais de Tokyo.
In 2015, she co-curated the exhibitions “Theatre of operations” (Théâtre de l’Usine, Geneva) and “darker and darker grows the landscape (la possibilité d’une île)” (Le Commun, Bâtiment d’art contemporain, Geneva).

Additionally, she collaborated on several exhibitions with Piano Nobile, a Geneva based independent art space; has been in charge of the coordination and production of the first Romanville Biennale (Romainville, 2011-2012) and was teaching assistant at the Geneva University of Art and Design, Switzerland for three years.
She is currently leading a research project on the relationship of historiography and contemporary art and is exploring notions of institutional critique and relation between art and politics.

Rencontre-conversation avec Bénédicte Le Pimpec,
commissaire d’exposition et critique d’art,
dans le cadre d’ACROSS#4

Lundi 16 novembre – à 19h00
Galerie Le 22
22 rue de Dijon
06 Nice

En 2015, thankyouforcoming met en place de courts temps de résidences critiques et curatoriales à Nice.
Le programme ACROSS (scènes de province) est un projet collaboratif, participatif et expérimental, qui donne une visibilité originale à des scènes artistiques et interroge les usages de la mobilité.

A NATION AT RISK

A NATION AT RISK est une présentation des recherches menées par Bénédicte Le Pimpec sur l’appropriation des récits de l’Histoire par les artistes et plus particulièrement sur le collectif REPOhistory.

Fondé en 1989 à Manhattan par un groupe d’artistes, enseignants, activistes et historiens intéressés par l’écriture et la représentation des récits de l’Histoire, REPOhistory a développé une dizaine de projets à New York, Houston et Atlanta jusqu’au début des années 2000. Utilisant cartes, panneaux, expositions et médias locaux pour faire circuler des histoires oubliées d’hommes et de femmes, ils ont mis au jour des récits minoritaires dans l’espace public provoquant une lecture politique et contextuelle des récits historiques.

Bénédicte Le Pimpec, commissaire d’exposition et critique d’art 

Bénédicte le Pimpec (née en 1986, vit et travaille à Genève) a obtenu un DNSEP à l’école des Beaux-arts de Brest en 2009 ainsi qu’un master au sein du programme de recherche critique et curatorial de la HEAD – Genève en 2011.

En 2007, elle co-fonde Monstrare, structure qui œuvre pour la production et la diffusion de pratiques et réflexions artistiques, avec laquelle elle coordonne actuellement une résidence dans des grottes troglodytiques à Dampierre-sur-Loire (France).

Elle travaille en tant que curatrice indépendante, ses projets ont notamment pu être vus lors des expositions suivantes : REWORKS, exposition personnelle de l’artiste Alexis Guillier (Piano Nobile, 2011, Genève), Le Principe Galápagos (Palais de Tokyo, 2013, Paris), Théâtre des Opérations (Théâtre de l’Usine, 2015, Genève) ou encore darker and darker grows the landscape (la possibilité d’une île), (Le Commun, Bâtiment d’art contemporain, 2015, Genève).

Elle s’est occupée de la production et de la coordination de la première Biennale de Romainville (Romainville, 2011-2012) et a collaboré avec l’espace Piano Nobile à Genève. De 2012 à 2015 elle fut assistante d’enseignement au sein du programme « Information/fiction » de la HEAD – Genève.

Portés par la critique institutionnelle et les relations entre art et politique, ses champs de recherche se concentrent sur l’historiographie par les artistes. Elle mène sur ce sujet une étude sur le groupe d’artistes New-Yorkais REPOhistory.