KUNSTHALLE3000

An institution as intervention in public space,
proposed by Thomas Geiger, artist and curator,
as part of ACROSS #20.

Saturday 1 December 2018
3:00 PM > 6:00 PM, in front of the former Casino de la Jetée-Promenade

Since 2015, thankyouforcoming runs a critic and curatorial residency program from Nice. ACROSS (scènes de province) is a collaborative, participatory and experimental project.

KUNSTHALLE3000

We are very pleased to announce the reopening of the Jetée-Promenade Palace on Saturday, December 1, 2018 at 15.00, under the name Casino3000 for a stealthy and unique open-air casino experience. Come join us and try your luck!
Casino3000 is a project run by Kunsthalle3000 / Thomas Geiger, an institution as intervention declaring existing but unused “situations” within public space as Kunsthalle and activating them for a specific time with invited artists.
In collaboration with Pierre Akrich, Karima El Karmoudi, Thomas Geiger, Ann Guillaume, Rémi Groussin, Claire Migraine and Justin Sanchez.

Kunsthalle3000 is an institution as intervention proposed by the German artist and curator Thomas Geiger, who declares existing but unused ‘situations’ in the public sphere as spaces for art, activating them temporarily in collaboration with invited artists. Its aim is to make visible and explore the possibilities and the potentials but also the borders and the limits of public space, in order to claim their possible democratic use.

The concept of Kunsthalle (arts space or gallery) is used in German-speaking countries to describe a specific type of municipal museum whose primary purpose is to make art accessible to everyone. Kunsthalle 3000 follows this principle quite literally by declaring objects and architectural elements within the public sphere as “art spaces (Kunsthalle)” and inviting artists to intervene within them. A temporary program is thus engendered that activates these places with performances, presentations, discussions, exchanges and encounters for both visitors and passers-by.

Kunsthalle3000 was initiated in Vienna (Austria) in 2016, before continuing on to Johannesburg (South Africa), Geneva (Switzerland), Beirut (Lebanon), Paris (France) and Langenhagen (Germany).
As part of the ACROSS residency program, thankyouforcoming invites Kunsthalle3000 to exhibit in Nice, engaging with the city’s historical and cultural lineage of artistic actions in the public space.

Taking place around the old Jetée-Promenade Casino, Kunsthalle3000 is activated in collaboration with local artists, who are invited to design performances and temporary interventions for this space where anything can happen…
In 1883, under the leadership of the Marquis d’Espouy of Saint-Paul and with the support of the city of Nice, a casino directly inspired by London’s Crystal Palace is inaugurated. Immediately ravaged by a fire, the casino is then rebuilt in 1891 during the “Belle Époque”. Situated in the centre of the Baie des Anges, a pier advancing into the sea provides exceptional views and entertainment for nearly 50 years. During the Second World War, the casino is stripped of its brass, bronze, statues, silverware, electrical wiring and any other metals likely to serve the German war effort. A few years later, the casino ceases activity and is dismantled. The pier and platform with its salons, orchestra halls, theatre, games rooms, restaurants and even indoor baths are abandoned to their watery cemetery.
Today, almost no trace of the presence of this glory of yesteryear exists. You could almost ignore the Palace of the Pier’s existence if it were not for the old postcards that still testify to its sumptuous past. Near its former location stands a metal structure isolated from its environment, place of assembly and activation of Casino3000.

We are very pleased to announce the reopening of the Jetée-Promenade Palace on Saturday, December 1, 2018 at 15.00, under the name Casino3000 for a stealthy and unique open-air casino experience!
Come join us and try your luck!

KUNSTHALLE3000

Saturday 1st December 2018
Free access

ACROSS20_KH3000_Nice_TYFC2018_web
Across20_webVA.jpg

KUNSTHALLE3000

Une institution d’interventions dans l’espace public,
proposés par Thomas Geiger, artiste et curator,
dans le cadre d’ACROSS #20.

Samedi 1er décembre 2018
15h00 > 18h00, à l’emplacement de l’ancien Casino de la Jetée-Promenade

En 2015, thankyouforcoming met en place de courts temps de résidences critiques et curatoriales à Nice.
Le programme ACROSS (scènes de province) est un projet collaboratif, participatif et expérimental, qui donne une visibilité originale à des scènes artistiques et interroge les usages de la mobilité.

KUNSTHALLE3000

Nous avons le plaisir de vous annoncer la réouverture du palais de la Jetée-Promenade, samedi 1er décembre, sous l’appellation Casino3000 pour une expérience unique et furtive de casino à ciel ouvert. Rejoignez-nous et tentez votre chance !

Casino3000 est un projet de la Kunsthalle3000 / Thomas Geiger, qui désigne comme Kunsthalle (espace d’art) des « situations » existantes mais inusitées dans l’espace public, et les active pour un temps donné avec la complicité d’artistes du territoire.
En collaboration avec Pierre Akrich, Karima El Karmoudi Thomas Geiger, Ann Guillaume, Rémi Groussin, Claire Migraine et Justin Sanchez .

La Kunsthalle3000 est une institution d’interventions proposée par l’artiste et curator allemand Thomas Geiger, qui déclare comme centres d’art des « situations » existantes mais non mises à profit dans l’espace public, et les active pour un temps donné avec la complicité d’artistes invité·e·s. Elle a pour objet de rendre visibles et de thématiser les possibilités et les potentiels, mais aussi les frontières et les limites de l’espace public, afin de revendiquer la possibilité d’un usage démocratique de ces espaces.

La notion de Kunsthalle (espace d’art) est utilisée dans les pays germanophones pour une catégorie particulière de musées communaux dont le but premier était de rendre l’art accessible à tout un chacun. La Kunsthalle3000 reprend ce principe de base à la lettre en déclarant « espace artistique (Kunsthalle) » des éléments accessoires, architectoniques à l’intérieur de l’espace public et en invitant des artistes à devenir actifs dans ce cadre. C’est ainsi que naît un programme temporaire qui active ces lieux avec des performances, des présentations, des discussions, des échanges et des confrontations tout autant pour les visiteurs que pour les passants.

La Kunsthalle3000 est née à Vienne (Autriche) en 2016, avant de poursuivre sa route à Johannesburg (Afrique du Sud), Genève (Suisse), Beirut (Liban), Paris (France) et Langenhagen (Allemagne).
A l’invitation de thankyouforcoming, dans le cadre du programme de résidences ACROSS, la Kunsthalle3000 ouvrira prochainement ses portes à Nice, en écho à la tradition historique et culturelle de la ville comme lieu d’actions artistiques dans l’espace public.

Prenant place aux alentours de l’ancien Casino de la Jetée-Promenade, la Kunsthalle3000 est activée en collaboration avec des artistes locaux.ales, invité.e.s à concevoir performances et interventions éphémères pour ce lieu où tout peut arriver…
En 1883, sous l’impulsion du marquis d’Espouy de Saint-Paul et avec le soutien de la ville de Nice, est inauguré un casino directement inspiré du Crystal Palace de Londres. Immédiatement ravagé par un incendie, une nouvelle société rouvrira le casino reconstruit en 1891, en pleine période « Belle Époque ». Au beau milieu de la Baie des Anges, une jetée avançant sur la mer promet une vue exceptionnelle et assure le divertissement pendant près de 50 ans. Durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, le casino est alors dépouillé de ses cuivres, bronzes, statues, argenterie, câblage électrique et autres métaux susceptibles de servir l’effort de guerre allemand. Quelques années plus tard, l’ensemble est démantelé et le casino cesse son activité. La jetée et la plateforme avec salons, salles d’orchestre, théâtre, salles de jeux, restaurants et même bains couverts sont abandonnés à leur cimetière d’eau.
Aujourd’hui, presqu’aucune trace ne perdure pour signaler la présence de cette gloire d’antan. À dire vrai, vous pourriez même ignorer complètement l’existence du palais de la Jetée, si ce n’est par les cartes postales anciennes qui témoignent encore de son existence somptueuse. Près de son ancien emplacement, surgit une structure métallique isolée de son environnement, lieu de rassemblement et d’activation de Casino3000.

Nous avons l’immense plaisir de vous annoncer la réouverture du palais de la Jetée-Promenade, samedi 1er décembre 2018 à 15h00, sous l’appellation Casino3000 pour une expérience unique et furtive de casino à ciel ouvert ! Rejoignez-nous et tentez votre chance !

KUNSTHALLE3000

Samedi 1er décembre 2018
Accès libre

ACROSS20_KH3000_Nice_TYFC2018_web
Across20_webVA.jpg