Curatorial activism
(Taking Places. Part. 1)

Public lecture and talk,
proposed by Sasha Pevak, art researcher and curator,
as part ofACROSS #14.

This lecture is the first event of Taking Places,
itinerant project in collaboration with Hanna Zubkova
in conjunction with Moscow (January 2018, Blind Spot) & Paris.

Saturday 9 December 2017 at 3:00PM
Vigna Bookshop
3 rue Delille, 06 Nice

Since 2015, thankyouforcoming runs a critic and curatorial residency program from Nice. ACROSS (scènes de province) is a collaborative, participatory and experimental project.

CURATORIAL ACTIVISM (Taking Places. Part. 1)

On the occasion of his residency, Sasha Pevak (France/Russia) will present the notion of “curatorial activism”.

This category has entered the vocabulary of contemporary art at the beginning of the 2010’s (the notion was simultaneously proposed by the curator Maura Reilly and the art researcher Kylie Message) and since then has prompted numerous interpretations. Based on the examples of actions by curators activists, the lecture will question the objectives and the potential strategies of curatorial activism today, opening the way to a collective reflection on the perspectives of these practises.

Which forms could take the curatorial activism inside and outside of the institution? What alternative structures and dispositifs could be initiated by the curators activists? What use of public space could they propose? What status could be granted to the artworks and the artistes in this new context? Is it possible, and necessary, to curate a protest action?

TAKING PLACES, itinerant project initiated by Sasha Pevak & Hanna Zubkova, consists of a succession of events that take place in Nice, in Moscow and in Paris. Taking as the starting point a research on the notion of curatorial activism, it will make gradually evolve this scientific object and its interpretations, while transmitting information and realizing physical displacements between France and Russia. The curator and the artist, who will constantly exchange roles along the project, interrogate as well the places that are assigned to them in the frame of such a collaboration.

Free entrance, within the limit of available seats.

2017_ACROSS14_OKFINAL

L’activisme curatorial
(Taking Places. Part. 1)

Conférence et échange publiques,
proposés par Sasha Pevak, chercheur et curator,
dans le cadre d’ACROSS #14.

Cet événement inaugure le projet itinérant Taking Places,
réalisé en collaboration avec l’artiste Hanna Zubkova ;
en liaison avec Moscou (janvier 2018, Blind Spot) et Paris.

Samedi 9 décembre 2017 à 15h00
Librairie Vigna
3 rue Delille, 06 Nice

https://www.google.fr/maps/place/3+Rue+Delille,+06000+Nice/@43.7011289,7.2748299,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x12cddabac419dc33:0x53c4156c418ad6bc!8m2!3d43.7011289!4d7.2770186""

En 2015, thankyouforcoming met en place de courts temps de résidences critiques et curatoriales à Nice.
Le programme ACROSS (scènes de province) est un projet collaboratif, participatif et expérimental, qui donne une visibilité originale à des scènes artistiques et interroge les usages de la mobilité.

L’ACTIVISME CURATORIAL (Taking Places. Part. 1)

À l’occasion de sa résidence, Sasha Pevak (France/Russie) présentera la notion d' »activisme curatorial ».

Cette catégorie, qui a été introduite dans le vocabulaire de l’art contemporain au début des années 2010 (la notion fut proposée simultanément par la curatrice Maura Reilly et par la chercheuse Kylie Message), a suscité depuis de nombreuses interprétations. En partant d’exemples d’actions de curator·rice·s activistes, la conférence propose de s’interroger sur les objectifs et les stratégies possibles de l’activisme curatorial aujourd’hui, tout en initiant une réflexion collective sur les perspectives de ces pratiques.

Quelles formes pourrait prendre l’activisme curatorial à l’intérieur et en dehors de l’institution ? Quels structures et dispositifs alternatifs pourraient être initiés par les curator·rice·s activistes ? Quels usages des espaces publics pourraient ils·elles proposer ? Quel statut accorder aux oeuvres et aux artistes dans ces contextes ? Est-il possible/nécessaire de curater une action contestataire ou une protestation sociale ou politique ?

TAKING PLACES, projet itinérant initié par Sasha Pevak et Hanna Zubkova, propose une succession d’événements qui viennent occuper trois espaces distincts, à Nice, à Moscou et à Paris. Développé à partir d’une recherche menée sur la notion d’ « activisme curatorial », le projet fera évoluer cet objet scientifique et ses interprétations au fur à mesure de transmissions d’informations et de déplacements physiques entre la France et la Russie. Le curator et l’artiste, en inter-changeant leurs rôles tout au long du projet, interrogent également les places qui leurs sont assignées dans le cadre d’une telle collaboration.

Entrée libre et gratuite, dans la limite des places disponibles.

2017_ACROSS14_TYFC_website