Second chapter of the project What Happens to People
and What Happens to the Land is the Same Thing

Exhibition-installation of Melanie Bonajo,
curated by Chiara Nuzzi, curator and art critic,
as part of ACROSS #16, with the cooperation of Claire Migraine.

at 7:00PM at Le Narcissio
16 rue Parmentier, 06 Nice

Exhibition from March 17 to April 2018
Wednesday – Saturday, 2:30 to 6:00PM,+06000+Nice/@43.7011289,7.2748299,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x12cddabac419dc33:0x53c4156c418ad6bc!8m2!3d43.7011289!4d7.2770186""

Download the press release of the exhibition

Download Melanie Bonajo’s portfolio

Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening
(ep.3), 2016
USA / Netherlands, digital, colour, sound, 50’, loop

Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening is the title of the exhibition-installation dedicated to the eponymous video work realized by Dutch artist Melanie Bonajo in 2016. Transformed for the occasion into a project space where the public can experience the film in a fully absorbing atmosphere, Le Narcissio hosts the last chapter of Night Soil for the first time in France. The project consists of an experimental documentary in three parts that narrates the disconnection undergone by Western people in relation to nature. Considering how communities come together through alternative and pre-colonial uses of land, the video explores indigenous land rights, off-the- grid subsistence, racism and injustice in the food system and the consequences of consumer
behaviour on farm animals.

In this chapter four protagonists with very different backgrounds narrate their stories about radical agriculture. Departing from Bonajo’s curiosity in women who live by alternative norms and have established communities by themselves, Nocturnal Gardening gives greater attention to women characters, as the artist believes their voices are insufficiently heard even today. The four characters all fiercely represent strong and progressive women: Mandana is a Paleolithic revivalist, anarchist and hunter-gatherer from Iran, currently living entirely off the land. She works as an educator and herbalist teaching people about plants on both a spiritual and scientific level. Leah Penniman is a food justice organizer and youth educator at Soul Fire Farm (U.S.A.), a family-run farm working to dismantle the structures of oppression within our food system and end racial injustice through farming, by increasing sustainable growing with people marginalized by food apartheid. Dafne Westerhof is a farmer from Friesland (The Netherlands) who educates people on the behaviour and wellbeing of farm animals and pigs in particular while Lyla June Johnson is a Navajo musician, land rights and non-violent communication activist.

Through such narrations, with the characters disclosing new ways of togetherness, applying measures that interrupt our current rules and speaking out for an anti-capitalist system of care, Bonajo’s combines a quasi-documentary style, that explores how people tackle feelings of fragmentation and alienation, with hallucinogenic fragments springing from her own imagination.

This exhibition-installation is part of the events programme What Happens To People And What Happens To The Land Is The Same Thing curated by Chiara Nuzzi in the frame of the residency ACROSS organized by thankyouforcoming in Nice. The project explores the role of art in ecological emergency, investigating its intersections with environmental commitment, political ecology and indigenous knowledge in relation to our time.
The whole programme, divided in different episodes covering the whole residency, presents works that question nature’s inextricable bonds to economics, technology and culture. The first chapter of the project took place on February 15th with a curator’s lecture and a screening night running from 7.30 to 9.30 pm at Le Narcissio. The session presented a talk by the curator and a selection of works by artists Ursula Biemann & Paulo Tavares, the Karrabing Film Collective and Uriel Orlow.
The further two chapters of the programme entails this exhibition-installation and a collective exhibition in the shape of a sound walk taking place in a Botanical Garden of the French Riviera (launching on April 22d) with contributions, among others, by Islands Song (Silvia Ploner & Nicolas Perret), Annika Kappner, Giacomo Raffaelli and Anna Raimondo. On this occasion, French artist Mathilde Dadaux will present a new specifically conceived performance.

The third season of the program ACROSS is realised with the support of the Region Provence – Alpes – Côte d’Azur.
The events program is realized with the support of the Prize ON BOARD 2017 promoted by MiBACT Ministry of Cultural Herit- age and Activities and Tourism – General Directorate for Contemporary Art and Architecture and Urban Suburbs and by GAI – Association for the Circuit of the Young Italian Artists.


In her work, Melanie Bonajo examines the paradoxes inherent to ideas of comfort with a strong sense for community, equality, and body-politics. Through her videos, performances, photographs and installations, she studies subjects related to how technological advances and commodity- based pleasures increase feelings of alienation, removing a sense of belonging in an individual. Her experimental documentaries often explore communities living or working on the margins of society, either through illegal means or cultural exclusion. Captivated by concepts of the divine, Bonajo explores the spiritual emptiness of her generation, examines peoples’ shifting relationship with nature and tries to understand existential questions by reflecting on our domestic situations, ideas around classification, concepts of home, gender and attitudes towards value.

Bonajo’s work has been exhibited and performed in international art institutions, such as Tate Modern, London; EYE Film Museum, Amsterdam; STUK, Louvain; de Bond, Bruges; Rogaland Kunstsenter, Stavanger, Norway; De Appel Arts Centre, Amsterdam; Centre for Contemporary Art, Warsaw; the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; the Moscow Biennale; National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul; Fondazione Prada, Milan;PPOW Gallery and PS1/MoMA, New York. Her films have been screened at Kunsthalle Basel (2016), and numerous fes vals such as International Film Fes val Rotterdam (IFFR), International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam (IDFA) and the Berlinale. In 2012, she initiated the collective Genital International, which tackles subjects around feminism, participation, equality, our Earth: ‘Politics beyond Polarity’ and ‘Revolution through Relaxation’.

Bonajo has contributed to several art magazines, was creative editor of Capricious Magazine, and curated various shows, such as the QQC Performance Festival about pop music in visual arts at the Paradiso, Amsterdam. She published several books, the most recent being: ‘Matrix Botanica, numero 1 – Non-Human Persons,’ designed by Experimental Jetset and published by Capricious Publishing (New York). In 2013, she released an album with her band ZaZaZoZo (in collaboration with Joseph Marzolla) called Inua. She is currently working at a solo-project called Mel’s Positive Morning Exercise. The first song was released on youtube in 2016. Bonajo surf fluidly through various platforms of high and low culture, organizing events, and by using her music/videoclips in her films and using social media for her music and collaborative projects.

Melanie Bonajo studied at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy and completed residencies at the Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunst in Amsterdam (2009-10) and at ISCP in New York (2014). Last year, she was shortlisted for the 57th Venice Biennale. Her film Night Soil— Economy of Love, recently awarded for the IFFR Tiger Awards (2016), has been produced and screened by Schunck, Heerlen (2015), was shown at a.o. Tate Modern, London, AKINCI, Amsterdam (2015) and EYE Film Museum, Amsterdam (2016). Recently, Melanie Bonajo presented her Night Soil trilogy in a solo show at FOAM, Amsterdam, now acquired by Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht. The trilogy has recently been exhibited at Frankfurter Kunstverein and Haus der Kunst München. Last March she premiered her performance Pilgrimage with the Animal at Tate Modern.


Melanie Bonajo, Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening, 2016, video still.
Courtesy the artist and AKINCI Gallery, Amsterdam.

NIGHT SOIL – NOCTURNAL GARDENING

Chapitre 2 du projet What Happens to People
and What Happens to the Land is the Same Thing

Exposition-installation de Melanie Bonajo,
proposée par Chiara Nuzzi, curatrice et critique d’art,
dans le cadre d’ACROSS #16, avec la complicité de Claire Migraine.

VERNISSAGE VENDREDI 16 MARS 2018
à 19h00 au Narcissio
16 rue Parmentier, 06 Nice

Exposition du 17 mars au 20 avril 2018
Mercredi – samedi, de 14h30 à 18h00

Vendredi 20 avril 2018, ouverture exceptionnelle en nocturne (finissage).

À 20h, rencontre (apéritive) avec les commissaires d’exposition
et présentation du projet général What Happens to People and What Happens
to the Land is the Same Thing
.

https://www.google.fr/maps/place/3+Rue+Delille,+06000+Nice/@43.7011289,7.2748299,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x12cddabac419dc33:0x53c4156c418ad6bc!8m2!3d43.7011289!4d7.2770186""

Télécharger le dossier de presse de l’exposition

Télécharger le portfolio de Melanie Bonajo

NEW

Critique de l’exposition par Leïla Couradin, sur lacritique.org

Critique de l’exposition par Hélène Soumaré, sur Point Contemporain

Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening
(ep.3), 2016
USA / Pays-Bas, digital, couleur, son, 50’, en boucle

Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening est le titre d’une exposition-installation consacrée à l’œuvre vidéo éponyme réalisée en 2016 par l’artiste néerlandaise Melanie Bonajo. Transformé pour l’occasion en un site où le public pourra visionner le film dans une atmosphère véritablement immersive, Le Narcissio accueille pour la première fois en France ce dernier volet de Night Soil. Le projet consiste en effet en un documentaire expérimental en trois parties, évoquant la déconnexion vécue par les Occidentaux dans leur relation à la nature. En observant la façon dont certaines communautés se constituent et se rassemblent autour d’une utilisation alternative et « précoloniale » de la terre, la vidéo aborde des thématiques telles que le droit foncier des peuples autochtones, la subsistance loin des réseaux, le racisme et l’injustice dans les systèmes alimentaires, ou les effets des comportements consuméristes sur les animaux d’élevage.

Dans ce dernier chapitre, quatre protagonistes aux parcours très différents nous racontent leur histoire avec l’agriculture radicale. En léger décalage par rapport à l’habituelle curiosité de Melanie Bonajo pour les femmes vivant selon des normes alternatives et qui ont fondé des communautés à part, Nocturnal Gardening accorde plus d’attention encore à ces personnages féminins car l’artiste est convaincue qu’aujourd’hui encore, leurs voix ne sont pas suffisamment entendues. Toutes les quatre incarnent avec intensité des femmes fortes et progressistes: Mandana est une « revivaliste du Paléolithique », anarchiste et chasseuse-cueilleuse d’origine iranienne, qui vit actuellement exclusivement de la terre. Elle travaille comme éducatrice et herboriste, proposant un enseignement sur les plantes à la fois scientifique et spirituel. Leah Penniman est « organisatrice de justice alimentaire » et éducatrice pour les jeunes à la Soul Fire Farm, aux États-Unis. Il s’agit d’une ferme familiale qui s’emploie à démanteler les structures d’oppression régissant nos systèmes alimentaires et à mettre fin à l’injustice raciale par l’exploitation agricole, en développant l’agriculture durable auprès de populations marginalisées par l’apartheid alimentaire. Dafne Westerhof est agricultrice dans la région de la Frise, aux Pays-Bas, où elle mène une action d’éducation et de sensibilisation aux comportements et au bien-être des animaux d’élevage, en particulier les porcins. Lyla June Johnson, quant à elle, est une musicienne d’origine navajo, militante des droits fonciers autochtones et de la communication non violente.

Par l’intermédiaire de ces différents récits, où les protagonistes livrent de nouvelles modalités du vivre ensemble – appliquant des mesures qui invalident nos règles actuelles, en revendiquant haut et fort un système anticapitaliste du care – Melanie Bonajo combine à des fragments hallucinatoires tirés de sa propre imagination une approche stylistique quasi documentaire, qui explore les multiples réactions possibles face au sentiment de fragmentation et d’aliénation.

Cette exposition installation s’inscrit dans le programme d’événements What Happens to People and What Happens to the Land is the Same Thing conçu par Chiara Nuzzi dans le cadre de la résidence ACROSS fondée par thankyouforcoming à Nice. Dans le contexte actuel d’urgence écologique, le projet de Chiara Nuzzi, 16ème résidente du programme, s’intéresse au rôle de l’art en étudiant ses relations avec l’engagement environnemental, l’écologie politique ou les savoirs autochtones, en écho à notre propre modernité.
La totalité du projet, divisé en différents épisodes proposés au fil d’une résidence de 3 mois sur la Côte d’Azur, présente des œuvres et artistes qui explorent les liens inextricables de la nature avec l’économie, la technologie et la culture. Le premier événement de ce cycle, jeudi 15 février à 19h30 au Narcissio, a pris la forme d’une conférence de la commissaire d’exposition Chiara Nuzzi qui a présenté ses recherches en cours et a proposé une programmation vidéo rassemblant les œuvres des artistes Ursula Biemann & Paulo Tavares, le Karrabing Film Collective et Uriel Orlow.
Les deux chapitres complémentaires du programme What Happens to People and What Happens to the Land is the Same Thing consistent en cette exposition-installation du travail vidéo Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening de l’artiste néerlandaise Melanie Bonajo, ainsi qu’en une exposition collective prenant la forme d’une promenade sonore, qui aura lieu dans un jardin botanique exotique de la Côte d’Azur (lancement le 22 avril 2018), avec la participation, entre autres, des artistes Islands Songs (Silvia Ploner & Nicolas Perret), Annika Kappner, Giacomo Raffaelli et Anna Raimondo. L’artiste française Mathilde Dadaux présentera une performance inédite, spécifiquement conçue pour l’occasion.

La troisième saison du programme ACROSS est réalisée avec le soutien de la Région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. La résidence de Chiara Nuzzi bénéficie du soutien du prix ON BOARD 2017, promu par le MiBACT Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism – General Directorate for Contemporary Art and Architecture and Urban Suburbs et par GAI – Association for the Circuit of the Young Italian Artists.

MELANIE BONAJO

Dans son travail, Melanie Bonajo se penche sur les paradoxes inhérents à l’idée de confort, avec un sens aigu de l’égalité, de la communauté et de la politique du corps. Au travers de ses vidéos, performances, photographies et installations, elle aborde des thèmes liés à la façon dont les avancées technologiques et la marchandisation du plaisir viennent accroître la sensation d’aliénation, en supprimant chez l’individu le sentiment d’appartenance. Souvent, dans ses documentaires expérimentaux, elle explore des communautés qui vivent ou travaillent aux lisières de la société, marginalisées par l’illégalité ou par l’exclusion culturelle. Fascinée par la notion du divin, Melanie Bonajo sonde le vide spirituel de sa génération, observe le glissement qui s’opère dans notre relation à la nature, et tente de résoudre des questions existentielles en interrogeant nos vies domestiques, autour des concepts de classification, de foyer, de genre et de vision de la valeur des choses.

Le travail de Melanie Bonajo – expositions et performances – a été présenté dans des institutions artistiques internationales telles que la Tate Modern (Londres), le EYE Film Museum (Amsterdam), le STUK (Louvain), de Bond (Bruges), le Rogaland Kunstsenter de Stavenger (Norvège), De Appel Arts Centre (Amsterdam), le Centre for Contemporary Art (Varsovie), le Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), la Biennale de Moscou, le Musée national d’art moderne et contemporain de Séoul, la Fondazione Prada (Milan), ou encore la PPOW Gallery et le MoMA PS1, à New York. Ses films ont été montrés à la Kunsthalle Basel, (2016), ainsi que lors de nombreux festivals, parmi lesquels l’International Film Festival de Rotterdam (IFFR), l’International Documentary Film Festival d’Amsterdam (IDFA), ou la Berlinale. En 2012, elle a lancé le collectif baptisé Genital International, qui aborde des thématiques telles que le féminisme, l’action participative, l’égalité, notre Planète, ou encore « La politique au-delà de la polarité » et « La révolution par la relaxation ».

Melanie Bonajo a également apporté sa contribution à plusieurs magazines d’art, exercé les fonctions de creative editor pour Capricious Magazine et assuré le commissariat d’un certain nombre d’expositions, parmi lesquelles le QQC Performance Festival, autour de la place de la musique pop dans les arts visuels, au Paradiso Amsterdam. Elle est l’auteure de divers ouvrages, dont le plus récent s’intitule Matric Botanica, numero 1 – Non-Human Persons, conçu par le studio graphique Experimental Jetset et publié chez Capricious Publishing (New York). En 2013, elle a sorti avec son groupe ZaZaZoZo (et en collaboration avec Joseph Marzolla) un album intitulé Inua. Elle travaille actuellement sur un projet musical en solo baptisé Mel’s Positive Morning Exercise. Le premier titre a été mis en ligne sur YouTube en 2016. Melanie Bonajo passe avec souplesse d’une plateforme à l’autre, surfant sans difficulté de la high culture à la low culture, ou sur l’organisation d’événements. Elle utilise sa musique et ses clips vidéo dans ses films, et se sert des réseaux sociaux pour sa création musicale et ses projets collaboratifs.

Melanie Bonajo a fait ses études à la Gerrit Rietveld Academy, un cursus qu’elle a complété par des résidences à la Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunst d’Amsterdam (2009-10) et à l’ISCP, à New York (2014). L’an dernier, elle faisait partie de la shortlist pour la sélection des Pays-Bas à la 57e Biennale de Venise. Son film Night Soil— Economy of Love, qui a récemment reçu un Tiger Award décerné par l’IFFR (2016), a été produit et programmé par le Schunck de Heerlen, aux Pays-Bas (2015). Il a également été montré, entre autres, à la Tate Modern, à l’AKINCI d’Amsterdam (2015) et au EYE Film Museum (2016). Récemment, Melanie Bonajo a présenté sa trilogie Night Soil dans une exposition personnelle organisée par le musée de la photographie FOAM, à Amsterdam, qui a ensuite intégré la collection du musée Bonnefanten de Maastricht. La trilogie a été dernièrement exposée au Frankfurter Kunstverein, ainsi qu’à la Haus der Kunst de Munich. En mars dernier, l’artiste a présenté la première de sa performance Pilgrimage with the Animal à la Tate Modern à Londres.

1_BONAJOMelanie_NIGHTSOIL_TYFC2018_PhotoFFernandez

2_BONAJOMelanie_NIGHTSOIL_TYFC2018_PhotoFFernandez

3_BONAJOMelanie_NIGHTSOIL_TYFC2018_PhotoFFernandez

4_BONAJOMelanie_NIGHTSOIL_TYFC2018_PhotoFFernandez

5_BONAJOMelanie_NIGHTSOIL_TYFC2018_PhotoFFernandez

6_MelanieBonajo_NightSoilNocturnal-Gardening_2016_CourtesyTheArtistAndAKINCI_1_web

7_MelanieBonajo_NightSoilNocturnal-Gardening_2016_CourtesyTheArtistAndAKINCI_2_web

8_MelanieBonajo_NightSoilNocturnal-Gardening_2016_CourtesyTheArtistAndAKINCI_3_web

Photo 1 à 5
Melanie Bonajo, vue de l’exposition Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening, Le Narcissio, Nice, Avril 2018.
Cur. Chiara Nuzzi, dans le cadre de la résidence ACROSS.
Production : Thankyouforcoming / Claire Migraine.
Photo : François Fernandez.

Photo 6 à 8
Melanie Bonajo, Night Soil – Nocturnal Gardening, 2016, video still.
Courtesy the artist and AKINCI Gallery, Amsterdam.