FORFAIT_WITHDRAW
Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli and Johan Christ-Bertrand
by SISSI [Élise Poitevin & Anne Vimeux]

Published in May 2020

(Made in Local – Saison #5 ACROSS #24)

• 

 

On the occasion of the 5th season of ACROSS, thankyouforcoming has commissioned texts from art critics and exhibition curators in residence on the French Riviera.
Of a relatively brief format, these texts comply with a common narrative arc: namely placing the artists and initiatives encountered by the residents during their stay at the heart of the writing process.
We hope you enjoy discovering these distinctive perspectives, which will in the long run constitute an original overview of contemporary creation in the Alpes Maritimes department!

Residency of SISSI



“FORFAIT_WITHDRAW – Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli
and Johan Christ-Bertrand”

           In the spring of 2019, inspired by the Instagram account @sadtopographies <1>, we began defining the outlines of a reflection on our status as young curators of an independent art space: Poverty Island, Loser Lane, Depressed Lake, ROAD TO MISERY…
Simultaneously suffering from pressure, exhaustion and insecurity, Bartleby’s line, “I would prefer not to” <2>, comes to mind. Idleness, doing nothing, working from one’s bed, would represent a better lifestyle, an alternative path, perhaps even a gentle and joyful rebellion as productivity and competition prevail. In January 2020, during the ACROSS#24 residence of thankyouforcoming in Nice, we met Villa Arson students and graduates Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli and Johan Christ-Bertrand. In their works, we see this intuition come to life and take on various forms.

           In her works, Sarah Netter plays with the reuse of salvaged materials: stuffing, chicken wire, toilet papier mâché, plaster, rust, fake leather… Working like a sculptor, she favours ceramics, wax, which can be crafted endlessly. By casting and recasting the objects created, she produces forms which she covers in kitsch fabrics gleaned on markets and in second-hand stores, mimicking luxury and opulence. Janus (2020) depicts a two-headed creature that rises almost 3 metres high, watching us wrapped in an old houndstooth scarf. Like in a Riddikulus <3> spell, in which the wizard transforms his deepest fear into a joke, Sarah Netter turns the Roman god of beginning and end into a carnivalesque being. Also with transformation in mind, she operates pirate translations from Spanish into French of political speeches “in search of linguistic, theoretical and activist, not Euro-centric tools” <4>. Her “low-cost” sculptures and her officious writing allow for a dissection of textual and visual trans-spaces <5> rendering the reading and access to comprehension possible for everyone.



2_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

3_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

           In Mouna Bakouli’s work, the opposite journey takes place. Although the drawings and paintings are produced on poor materials and illustrate a taste for the upcycling, the second-hand — both the object already used as well as the second-rate thing, the low, the dirty, the dingy —, forms are stripped. Bodies are exposed beyond the flesh, the organs, to the bones, weakened by “the anxiety of the professional world” <6>. This anatomical outlook reveals lifeless beings, dry fluids coursing through them, “garbage bag[s] hanging from their heads” <7>. Once beyond the initial stage of macabre decomposition, the artist creates works whose musical hues play off-beat, a patchwork of disparate fragments, “a sauté of brains” <8>.
Improvisation, polyrhythm, syncopation: the distinctive energetic musical lexicon of jazz lends itself conveniently to describing Mouna Bakouli’s work. Through rhythm, tempo, laughter and mockery, she brings dislocated puppets, dried peas and intertwined intestines back to life.



4_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

5_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

           Nevertheless, the bodies, on the brink of decay and worn by productive injunctions, demand rest, yearning to withdraw from the world. Johan Christ-Bertrand for his part draws from the worlds of anime, video games and fantasy, combined with traditional symbols and the numerous references that instil his digitally-influenced paintings. He depicts a personal approach to gaming, whose interpretation does not lie in the game itself but rather in playing, based on the intimate experience of the gamer <9>. The evocatively entitled piece Hikiko / Memento Mori, (2019) suggests the hushed intimacy of a bedroom whose misty window displays the calligraphed word “hikikomori” <10>, which describes a psychosocial state in which one lives confined, ostracized by society. On an age-worn wood table, a Transformer <11>, a game of dice and the map of a landscape shot day for night are displayed. A new world flourishes in this state of isolation, comprised of games and fiction, of role-playing and chance, whose storyline is already scripted, inherent to the tragedy of a software predetermination.

           In arcade games, dominated by feelings of dizziness and loss of control, the aim is not so much to win as to avoid losing for as long as possible. Echoing a generation haunted by the imperatives of social ambition, those three artists persist unrelentingly in believing in the possibilities of collective lives and subsistence.


                                   SISSI [Élise Poitevin & Anne Vimeux], May 2020 (translated by Aisling Halleman)



6_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

7_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020


1_ The Instagram thread of Damien Rudd’s account @sadtopographies displays Google map screenshots of unfortunately named locations. Hence he reinjects emotion in satellite pictures of global geography.
2_ MELVILLE Herman, Bartleby, 1853.
3_ ROWLING J.K, The Prisoner of Azkaban, 1999. A charm that produces a ridiculous and hilarious form. Taught by Lupin in his class on “Defence Against the Dark Arts”, this spell is very efficient against Boggarts.
4_ Sarah Netter, in her dissertation entitled PREFERENCES LINGUISTIQUES/A PERREAR, devotes a section to pirate translations. Among her favourite authors, she evokes Sayak Valencia, Paul B. Preciado.
5_ Ibid.
6_ Quote by Mouna Bakouli about her work in a text published on the occasion of her graduation in 2018. From the website: https://villa-arson.xyz/diplomes2018/mouna-bakouli (accessed in March 2020).
7_ ARTAUD Antonin, “To Have Done With the Judgement of God – The Pursuit of Fecality”, Complete Works, vol. 13, Paris, Gallimard, 1974.
8_ A translation of Mouna Bakouli’s work entitled Sauté de cervelle, 2018.
9_ TRICLOT Mathieu, Philosophie des jeux vidéos, Edition La Découverte, 2017.
10_ In Japan, hikikomori (引き籠もり), lit. “pulling inward, being confined”, i.e., “acute social withdrawal”) are reclusive adolescents or adults who withdraw from society and seek extreme degrees of isolation and confinement. Hikikomori refers to both the phenomenon in general and the recluses themselves. Hikikomori have been described as loners or “modern-day hermits” (source: Wikipedia)
11_ The Transformer is made of parts from a Ford Mustang, in reference to ‘fordite’, a gemstone actually produced by the accumulation of layers of car paint.

Captions:

1.
Sarah Netter, Janus, 2020
Exhibition view, fabric, wax, oil cloth
Photo: Silina Syan

2.
Sarah Netter, Janus, 2020
Fabric, wax, oil, cloth (detail)
Photo: Silina Syan

3.
Mouna Bakouli, Le squelette enlevant sa capuche en chair, 2018
Auto refinish painting on canvas
Photo: Mouna Bakouli

4.
Mouna Bakouli, L’homme à la chevelure d’oreilles, 2017
Pencil on paper
Photo: Mouna Bakouli

5.
Johan Christ-Bertrand, Hikiko / Memento Mori, 2019
Oil on canvas
Photo: Johan Christ-Bertrand

6.
Johan Christ-Bertrand, Hikiko / Memento Mori, 2019
Oil on canvas (detail)
Photo: Johan Christ-Bertrand

FORFAIT_WITHDRAW
Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli et Johan Christ-Bertrand
par SISSI [Élise Poitevin & Anne Vimeux]

Publié en Mai 2020

(Made in Local – Saison #5 ACROSS #24)

• 

 

À l’occasion de la 5ème saison ACROSS, thankyouforcoming initie un programme de commande de textes auprès des critiques d’art et commissaires d’exposition venu·es en résidence sur la Côte d’Azur.
Sur un format relativement court, ces textes suivent un fil rouge : placer au coeur de l’exercice d’écriture, les artistes et initiatives rencontré·es au cours de leur séjour.
Nous vous souhaitons une bonne découverte de ces points de vue particuliers, qui constitueront à terme un panorama original de la création contemporaine maralpine !

Résidence de SISSI



« FORFAIT_WITHDRAW – Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli
et Johan Christ-Bertrand »

           Au printemps 2019, inspirées par le compte Instagram @sadtopographies <1>, nous commençons à circonscrire les contours d’une réflexion sur notre statut de jeunes curatrices d’un art space indépendant : Poverty Island, Loser Lane, Depressed Lake, ROAD TO MISERY…
Accumulant pression, fatigue et précarité, la formule de Bartleby, « I would prefer not to »<2>, nous revient à l’esprit. Farniente, ne rien faire, œuvrer depuis son lit, représenterait une meilleure manière de vivre, une autre voie, peut-être même une révolte douce et joyeuse quand priment productivité et compétition. En janvier 2020, lors de la résidence ACROSS#24 de thankyouforcoming à Nice, nous rencontrons Sarah Netter, Mouna Bakouli et Johan Christ-Bertrand, étudiant·es et diplômé·es de la Villa Arson. Dans leurs œuvres, nous trouvons des mises en formes possibles de cette intuition.

           Sarah Netter se joue, dans ses œuvres, du réemploi de matériaux obsolètes : rembourrage, grillage de poule, papier Q mâché, plâtre, rouille, skaï… En travaillant par modelage, elle préfère à la céramique, la cire, modulable à l’infini. Par la fonte et la refonte des objets créés, elle érige des formes qu’elle recouvre de tissus kitsch glanés sur les marchés et dans les fripes mimant faussement le luxe et l’opulence. Janus (2020) représente une créature à deux têtes haute de près de 3 mètres, qui nous observe emmitouflée dans un vieux carré de pied-de-poule. À la manière d’un sortilège, Riddikulus <3>, où le sorcier métamorphose sa peur la plus profonde en un gag comique, Sarah Netter travestit le dieu romain du commencement et des fins en un être carnavalesque. Toujours dans l’idée de la transformation, elle opère des traductions pirates de tribunes politiques de l’espagnol vers le français « à la recherche d’outils langagiers, théoriques et militants, non euro-centrés »<4>. Ses sculptures « à bas prix » et ses écrits sauvages permettent un décorticage des trans-espaces textuels et visuels <5> rendant la lecture et l’accès à la compréhension possibles pour tout·e·x·s.



2_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

3_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

           Dans l’œuvre de Mouna Bakouli, c’est le cheminement inverse qui se produit. Si dessins et peintures s’effectuent sur des matériaux pauvres et révèlent un goût pour la récupération, le seconde main — autant l’objet déjà utilisé que la chose de seconde zone, le low, le crade, le PMU —, les formes, ici, se dénudent. Le corps est donné à voir au-delà de la chair, les organes jusqu’aux os, fragilisé par « l’angoisse du monde du travail »<6>. Ce regard anatomique montre des êtres vivants sans vigueur, animés par des fluides secs, des « sac[s] d’ordures qui pend[ent] de la tête »<7>. Passé ce premier état de décomposition macabre, elle propose une œuvre aux teintes musicales jouant avec les contretemps, un rapiècement de fragments disparates, « un sauté de cervelles »<8>.
Improvisation, polyrythmie, syncope, le vocabulaire du souffle propre à l’énergie du jazz se prête bien à la description des œuvres de Mouna Bakouli. Par le rythme, le tempo, le rire et la dérision, elle redonne vie à des pantins désarticulés, des petits pois déshydratés, des intestins entrelacés.



4_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

5_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

           Néanmoins, au bord du délabrement, ce corps usé par l’urgence productive en appelle au repos, au retrait du monde. En regard, Johan Christ-Bertrand puise dans les univers de l’animé, du jeu vidéo et de la fantasy, mêlés à des symboles traditionnels, les multiples références qui composent ses toiles à l’ambiance digitale. Il dépeint une épreuve personnelle du jeu, dont l’interprétation ne se fait plus du point de vue du game mais du côté du play, à partir de l’expérience intérieure du joueur<9>. L’œuvre au titre évocateur, Hikiko / Memento Mori, (2019) suggère l’intimité calfeutrée d’une chambre où apparaît sur une fenêtre embuée, le mot calligraphié « hikikomori »<10>, désignant un état psychosocial où l’on vit cloîtré, mis au ban de la société. Sur une table en bois vieillie par les années, sont disposés un Transformer <11>, un jeu de dés et la carte d’un paysage en nuit américaine. De cet isolement premier se crée un nouvel univers, de jeu et de fiction, de rôle et de hasard, dont le scénario est déjà écrit, sous-tendant la tragédie d’une prédétermination logicielle.

           Dans les jeux d’arcade, dominés par le vertige et la perte de contrôle, le but n’est pas tant de gagner que d’éviter le plus longtemps possible de perdre. Ces trois artistes, à l’image d’une génération tourmentée par les impératifs de l’ambition sociale, persistent, sans déclarer forfait, à croire aux possibilités d’existences et de subsistances collectives.



                                   SISSI [Élise Poitevin & Anne Vimeux], Mai 2020.



6_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020

7_ForfaitWithdraw_SISSI_TYFC2020


1_ Sur le fil Instagram du compte @sadtopographies de Damien Rudd se succèdent des captures d’écrans google map de lieux existants nommés tristement. Il réintroduit en cela de l’affect dans les images satellitaires de la géographie mondiale.
2_ MELVILLE Herman, Bartleby, 1853.
3_ ROWLING J.K, Le Prisonnier d’Azkaban, 1999. Sortilège permettant de donner une forme ridicule et désopilante. Enseigné par Lupin dans son cours de « Défense contre les Forces du Mal », ce sort est très efficace contre les Épouvantards.
4_ Sarah Netter, dans son mémoire intitulé PREFERENCES LINGUISTIQUES/A PERREAR, dédie une des parties à ses traductions pirates. Parmi ses auteur·e·x·s fétiches, elle cite Sayak Valencia, Paul B. Preciado.
5_ Ibid.
6_ Citation de Mouna Bakouli, à propos de son travail dans le texte publié à l’occasion de son diplôme en 2018. Sur le site : https://villa-arson.xyz/diplomes2018/mouna-bakouli (consulté en mars 2020).
7_ ARTAUD Antonin, « Pour en finir avec le jugement de Dieu – la recherche de la fécalité », Œuvres complètes, vol. XIII, Paris, Gallimard, 1974.
8_ En référence à l’œuvre de Mouna Bakouli, Sauté de cervelle, 2018.
9_ TRICLOT Mathieu, Philosophie des jeux vidéos, Edition La Découverte, 2017.
10_ Hikikomori (引き籠もり) est un mot japonais désignant un état psychosocial et familial concernant principalement des hommes qui vivent coupés du monde et des autres, cloîtrés le plus souvent dans leurs chambres pendant plusieurs mois, voire plusieurs années, et ne sortant que pour satisfaire aux impératifs des besoins corporels (source Wikipedia).
11_ Le Transformer est fait des pièces d’une Ford Mustang, en référence à la « fordite », une pierre précieuse venue de Détroit composée en réalité de l’accumulation de couches de peinture de carrosserie.

Légendes :

1.
Sarah Netter, Janus, 2020
Vue d’exposition, tissu, cire, métal, toile cirée
Crédit photo : Silina Syan

2.
Sarah Netter, Janus, 2020
Tissu, cire, métal, toile cirée (détail)
Crédit photo : Silina Syan

3.
Mouna Bakouli, Le squelette enlevant sa capuche en chair, 2018
Peinture de carrosserie sur toile
Crédit photo : Mouna Bakouli

4.
Mouna Bakouli, L’homme à la chevelure d’oreilles, 2017
Crayon sur papier
Crédit photo : Mouna Bakouli

5.
Johan Christ-Bertrand, Hikiko / Memento Mori, 2019
Huile sur toile
Crédit photo : Johan Christ-Bertrand 

6.
Johan Christ-Bertrand, Hikiko / Memento Mori, 2019
Huile sur toile (détail)
Crédit photo : Johan Christ-Bertrand