We are thrilled to reveal the names of the 6 participants
to ACROSS’s second session.

We would like to warmly thank the jury for their continued support during the selection process: Bénédicte Le Pimpec (art critic and curator), Paul Maheke (artist) and Mathilde Roman (Phd in Arts and Sciences of Art, art critic (AICA France), and teacher at Pavillon Bosio – Monaco).

Rosa Lleó (Spain) > Nov./December 2016
Radoslav Ištok (Slovakia) > January 2017
Marie Cantos (France) > February 2017
Emily Butler (UK) > March 2017
Camille Paulhan (France) > April 2017
Julia Geerlings (The Netherlands) > July 2017

 

Rosa Lleó (1980 – Spain) is a writer and independent curator based in Barcelona.
She is founder and director of the non-profit space The Green Parrot. Since its opening in April 2014 the space has hosted exhibitions, a program of talks and events, and started a series of publications that bring together artists and other practitioners from the local and international scene such as Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Lúa Coderch, Diogo Evangelista, June Crespo, among others.
Lleó regularly writes for international art magazines and also teaches Contemporary Art at the Department of Media Studies at the Pompeu Fabra University of Barcelona. Lleó has curated exhibitions and events at MACBA (Barcelona, 2014), Fundació Antoni Tàpies (Barcelona, 2013), La Casa Encendida (Madrid, 2010) and 176 Project Space (London, 2009).
She did an MFA in Curating at Goldsmiths, University of London (London, 2007-2009) and took part on the Curatorlab program at Konstfack University College of Arts, Crafts and Design (Stockholm, 2012).

Radoslav Ištok (1989 – Slovakia) studied Curating Art at Stockholm University and Art History at Charles University in Prague.
As a governmental scholar he conducted research at the University of Copenhagen (2012-2013). In 2014 he participated in a curatorial course at The Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts supported by the Erste Foundation through the tranzit network.
His graduation project Knowledge Unbound (2015) in collaboration with Yvonique Wellen consisted of a strand of events concentrated around the issues of decolonising knowledge, self-organised art education as well as racialised structures of inequalities in higher education; and included i.a. artists Grada Kilomba, Dmitry Vilensky and Apichaya Wanthiang.
Recent projects include editorial work on the Decolonising Archives (2016) ePub by L’Internationale Online and exhibitions In the Sky When On the Floor (2016, with Iliane Kiefer) at the Gallery Mejan, Stockholm, and Finding Neverland (2015, with Tereza Jindrová) at the Entrance Gallery, Prague.
As an intern he worked at Tensta konsthall, Stockholm (2015); SALT, Istanbul (2015); and at the moment as a curatorial and production assistant at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven.

Marie Cantos (1981 – France) is a freelance author of texts, exhibitions and performed-lectures. She is a member of the AICA (international association of art critics) and of C-E-A (« associated curators »).
Art historian, for 10 years she has been writing about contemporary art, mainly for artists, exhibitions and group/solo show catalogues. Her critical approach is furthered in the exhibitions she curates and in the performed-lectures she imagines: spatial, historical and literary ramblings, in words, in images and in gestures, in the institutions that invite her (The Pavillon of Pantin, The ISELP in Brussels, the Mac/Val in Vitry-sur-Seine, the BILD in Digne, etc.).
Before working as an independent curator, she worked in the creation and coordination of artistic and pedagogical projects. Since, she brings her projects in France and abroad for galleries, associations, art centers and institutions, inside and sometimes outside the white cube (NuN in Berlin, The Cyclop at Milly-la-Forêt, Udensgabali festival in Riga, The Papillon at ESBA of Nîmes, la Tôlerie in Clermont-Ferrand, etc.) She regularly collaborates with Art schools (lectures, workshops, curatings).
Since 2015, Marie Cantos is also art critic and associated curator for PA | Platform of contemporary creation.

Emily Butler (1982 – UK) is a curator, writer and translator.
Currently Curator at the Whitechapel Gallery.
She has worked on survey exhibitions such as Electronic Superhighway, 2016, on exhibitions drawn from the collections, on commissions by artists such as Rachel Whiteread, 2012 and Kader Attia, 2013-2014, and major solo presentations by John Stezaker, Wilhelm Sasnal, 2011 and Hannah Höch, 2014. She also curates the Artists’ Film International presentation. Previously, she worked in the Visual Arts Department at the British Council on international touring exhibitions including Tracey Emin at the British Pavilion, Venice Biennale, 2007; Jeremy Deller and Alan Kane’s Folk Archive, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2009 and Flicker, Damascus, 2009.
She also edits and contributes to exhibition catalogues and art publications. Independent projects include Reel Portraits screening at the ICA, London, 2013 and Language Slips, Open Source visual arts festival, London, 2015.
Her area of research is in the issue of language and translation. Butler is particularly interested in artists who reveal the idiosyncrasies or gaps between languages.

Camille Paulhan (1986 – France) is an art historian and critic, who lives and works between Paris and Bayonne.
She studied Art history at the Sorbonne where she defended in 2014 a PhD on the perishable in the art of the 1960s-1970s.
She is a member of AICA France and has published articles in specialized periodicals such as art press, Facettes, Marges, Esse, Talweg or La Belle Revue; she is also a correspondant for the Hippocampe magazine, based in Lyon. For several years, she was a member of the platform Portraits, which aims at promoting young artists through analytic texts. She also regularly writes for exhibition catalogues: for the ENSBA, for instance, on the school’s young graduates, or for the FRAC Bretagne.
She was recently a curator for the “Paperolles” exhibition at the galery 22,48m² in Paris.
She was a reporter for individual help to creation at the DRAC Île-de-France, and currently teaches at the Bayonne art school, and the Rocailles higher art school in Biarritz.
She has started in early 2016 a series on thankyouforcoming about artists’ workshops.

Julia Geerlings (1985 – The Netherlands) is a freelance curator and writer based in Amsterdam and Paris.
She studied Art History at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and the Freie Universität Berlin. Geerlings writes regularly for Metropolis M, Tubelight, Museumtijdschrift and recently Frieze about the Dutch and French art scenes and she contributed to several publications: like the Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten catalogue and Kunsthuis SYB biennial catalogue.
Geerlings became specialized in presenting contemporary art at unusual locations like a medieval church, a brutalist church, a canal house and a fortress a.o. In her curatorial practice, she has been influenced by the notions of ‘context responsive curating’, where the location and context (social, economic and political aspects) are included in the development of the project.
She is currently curator of Nachtelijke Dwalingen (Night Dwellings), the performance program at Oude Kerk Amsterdam, guest curator at Kunstfort in Vijfhuizen, tutor at Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht (school of Fine Arts Utrecht) and committee member at CBK Rotterdam Research & Development subsidy for artists.
From October 2016 to April 2017, she will be in New York for a residency at ISCP for six months.

Nous sommes très heureux de vous présenter les 6 résident.e.s
qui bénéficieront de la seconde saison du programme de résidence ACROSS.

Nous remercions chaleureusement le jury d’exception qui nous a accompagnés dans ce travail de sélection : Bénédicte Le Pimpec (commissaire d’exposition et critique d’art), Paul Maheke (artiste) et Mathilde Roman (docteur en arts et sciences de l’art, critique d’art (AICA France), enseignante au Pavillon Bosio – Monaco).

Rosa Lleó (Espagne) > Nov./Décembre 2016
Radoslav Ištok (Slovaquie) > Janvier 2017
Marie Cantos (France) > Février 2017
Emily Butler (Royaume-Uni) > Mars 2017
Camille Paulhan (France) > Avril 2017
Julia Geerlings (Pays-Bas) > Juillet 2017

 


Rosa Lleó (1980 – Espagne) est commissaire d’exposition indépendante et écrivain, elle vit et travaille à Barcelone.
Lleó est fondatrice et directrice de The Green Parrot, espace d’art sans but lucratif. Depuis son ouverture en avril 2014, l’espace a accueilli des expositions, un programme de conférences et d’événements, et a lancé une série de publications qui réunissent des artistes et autres professionnels de la scène locale et internationale tels que Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Lúa Coderch, Diogo Evangelista, Juin Crespo, parmi d’autres.
Lleó écrit régulièrement pour des magazines d’art internationaux et enseigne l’art contemporain au département d’études de communication de l’Université Pompeu Fabra de Barcelone. Elle a assuré le commissariat d’expositions et d’événements au MACBA (Barcelone, 2014), à la Fondation Antoni Tàpies (Barcelone, 2013), à La Casa Encendida (Madrid, 2010) et au 176 Project Space (Londres, 2009).
Elle est diplômée du master curatorial du Goldsmiths, Université de Londres (Londres, 2007-2009) et a participé au programme Curatorlab du Konstfack University College of Arts, Crafts and Design (Stockholm, 2012). 


Radoslav Ištok (1989 – Slovaquie) a étudié le commissariat d’exposition à l’Université de Stockholm et l’histoire de l’art à la Charles University de Prague.
Récipiendaire d’une bourse du gouvernement, il a mené une recherche universitaire à l’université de Copenhague entre 2012 et 2013. En 2014, il a pris part, grâce au soutien de la fondation Erste et de tranzit Network, à l’université d’été de la Salzburg International Summer Academy of Fine Arts dédiée aux pratiques curatoriales.
Son projet de diplôme Knowledge Unbound (2015) conçu en collaboration avec Yvonique Wellen, consistait en une série d’événements qui se concentrait autour de l’idée de décoloniser les savoirs, les systèmes d’éducation alternatifs, ainsi que les structures d’inégalités raciales opérant dans l’éducation supérieure ; le projet incluait le travail des artistes Grada Kilomba, Dmitry Vilensky and Apichaya Wanthiang.
Ištok a récemment contribué à Decolonising Archives (2016) ePub ed. par L’Internationale Online et aux expositions In the Sky When On the Floor (2016, avec Iliane Kiefer) à la Gallery Mejan, Stockholm, et Finding Neverland (2015, avec Tereza Jindrová) à l’Entrance Gallery, Prague.
Il a travaillé en tant que stagiaire au Tensta konsthall, Stockholm (2015) ; SALT, Istanbul (2015) et occupe aujourd’hui la position d’assistant curateur et de production au Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven.


Marie Cantos (1981 – France) est auteure de textes, d’expositions et de conférences performées. Elle est membre de l’AICA (association internationale des critiques d’art) et de C-E-A (commissaires d’exposition associés).
Historienne de l’art, elle écrit depuis plus de dix ans sur l’art contemporain, principalement pour des artistes, des expositions et des ouvrages monographiques ou collectifs. Son approche critique trouve son prolongement dans les expositions qu’elle propose ainsi que dans les conférences performées qu’elle imagine : des divagations spatiales, historiques et littéraires, en mots, en images et en gestes, dans les lieux qui l’invitent (Le Pavillon de Pantin, L’Iselp à Bruxelles, Le Mac/Val à Vitry-sur-Seine, Le BILD à Digne, etc.)
Avant de devenir commissaire d’exposition indépendante, elle a travaillé dans la conception et coordination de projets artistiques et pédagogiques. Depuis, elle mène ses projets en France et à l’étranger, pour des galeries, des associations, des centres d’art ou des institutions, à l’intérieur du cube blanc et en dehors aussi, parfois (NuN à Berlin, Le Cyclop à Milly-la-Forêt, le festival Udensgabali à Riga, Le Papillon à l’ÉSBA de Nîmes, La Tôlerie à Clermont-Ferrand, etc.) Elle intervient régulièrement en écoles supérieures d’art (conférences, workshops, commissariats).
Depuis 2015, Marie Cantos est également critique et commissaire associée à PA | Plateforme de création contemporaine.


Emily Butler (1982 – Royaume-Uni) est commissaire d’exposition, écrivain et traductrice.
Actuellement Curator à la Whitechapel Gallery, elle a travaillé sur des expositions collectives telles que Electronic Superhighway, 2016, sur des expositions issues de collections privées et publiques, sur des commandes d’artistes tels que Rachel Whiteread, 2012 et Kader Attia, 2013-2014, ainsi que sur de grandes expositions monographiques de John Stezaker, Wilhelm Sasnal, 2011 et Hannah Höch, 2014. Elle est commissaire de l’exposition-projection Artists Film International de la Whitechapel Gallery. Elle a précédemment travaillé pour le Département des arts visuels du British Council sur des expositions itinérantes internationales telles que Tracey Emin à la Biennale de Venise, 2007 ; la Folk Archive de Jeremy Deller et Alan Kane, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2009 et Flicker, Damas, 2009.
Elle édite et contribue à des publications et catalogues d’expositions.
Parmi ses projets indépendants, citons Reel Portraits, projections à l’ICA, Londres, 2013 et Language Slips, Open Source festival des arts visuels, Londres 2015 et 2016.
Son domaine de recherche concerne la question de la langue et de la traduction. Butler est particulièrement intéressée par les démarches artistiques qui permettent de révéler les particularités ou les lacunes entre les langues (langages visuels, langues parlées etc.).


Camille Paulhan (1986 – France) est critique et historienne de l’art, elle vit et travaille entre Paris et Bayonne.
Elle a suivi des études d’histoire de l’art à la Sorbonne, et y a soutenu en 2014 une thèse portant sur la question du périssable dans l’art des années 1960-1970.
Membre de l’AICA France, elle publie des textes dans des revues spécialisées comme art press, Facettes, Marges, Esse, Talweg ou La Belle Revue ; elle est également correspondante pour le journal lyonnais Hippocampe. Elle a été membre pendant plusieurs années de la plateforme Portraits, visant à promouvoir la jeune création par le biais de textes critiques. Elle écrit également régulièrement pour des catalogues d’exposition, par exemple pour l’ENSBA sur de jeunes diplômés de l’école, ou encore pour le FRAC Bretagne.
Elle a récemment été commissaire de l’exposition « Paperolles » à la galerie 22,48m² à Paris.
Elle a été rapporteuse pour l’aide individuelle à la création à la DRAC Île-de-France, et enseigne aujourd’hui à l’École d’art de Bayonne et à l’École supérieure d’art des Rocailles à Biarritz.
En 2016, elle a initié pour thankyouforcoming un feuilleton à propos des ateliers d’artistes.


Julia Geerlings (1985 – Pays-Bas) est commissaire d’exposition indépendante et auteure, vit et travaille à Amsterdam et Paris.
Julia Geerlings est diplômée d’Histoire de l’art de la Vrije Universiteit d’Amsterdam et de la Freie Universität de Berlin. Geerlings écrit régulièrement pour Metropolis M, Tubelight, Museumtijdschrift et plus récemment dans Frieze, où elle a proposé une lecture des scènes artistiques hollandaises et françaises. Elle a également contribué à plusieurs publications : le catalogue Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten, celui de la biennale Kunsthuis SYB…
Les propositions curatoriales de Julia Geerlings prennent place dans des architectures ou environnements inhabituels, comme une église médiévale, une église brutaliste, une «canal house» (maison de bord de canal à l’architecture typique d’Amsterdam) ou encore une forteresse. Sa pratique curatoriale est influencée par les enjeux du ‘context responsive curating’, dans lequel la prise en compte des lieux et contextes (social, économique, politique) est déterminante dans l’écriture des projets.
Geerlings est actuellement commissaire de Nachtelijke Dwalingen (Demeures nocturnes), programme de performances de Oude Kerk (plus ancienne église d’Amsterdam), commissaire invitée du Kunstfort (bunker) de Vijfhuizen, enseignante à l’école des beaux-arts d’Utrecht et membre du comité de recherche et développement des subventions d’artistes au CBK Rotterdam.
D’octobre 2016 à avril 2017, elle est commissaire invitée en résidence à l’ISCP (International Studio & Curatorial Program) de New York.