ACROSS (scènes de province) #4
Bénédicte Le Pimpec visits Nice from 15 – 18 November 2015

Read more about the project ACROSS

 

ACROSS #4 – Geneva > Nice, from 15 to 18 November 2015

Talk with the curator on Monday 16 November, at 7:00PM, galerie Le 22 (22 rue de Dijon, Nice). Free entrance

Bénédicte Le Pimpec, curator and art critic

Bénédicte le Pimpec (born in 1986, France, lives and works in Geneva, Switzerland) studied Visual Arts at the European Art School in Brittany (2009) followed by a master in Curatorial Studies and Research at the HEAD (University of Art and Design – Geneva, 2011).

She curated or co-curated the exhibitions “Pastel is the colour of the defeat” a long-term research and exhibition project with the Fonds cantonal d’art contemporain, that explored the history of alternative art spaces and artistic production in the Geneva region (Broom Social Club, Geneva, 2011), “The Galápagos Principle” (Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2013) a three month evolving exhibition with about twenty artists, objects, movies or performances appearing in different places inside and outside of the Palais de Tokyo.
In 2015, she co-curated the exhibitions “Theatre of operations” (Théâtre de l’Usine, Geneva) and “darker and darker grows the landscape (la possibilité d’une île)” (Le Commun, Bâtiment d’art contemporain, Geneva).

Additionally, she collaborated on several exhibitions with Piano Nobile, a Geneva based independent art space; has been in charge of the coordination and production of the first Romanville Biennale (Romainville, 2011-2012) and was teaching assistant at the Geneva University of Art and Design, Switzerland for three years.
She is currently leading a research project on the relationship of historiography and contemporary art and is exploring notions of institutional critique and relation between art and politics.

ACROSS (scènes de province) #4
Visite de Bénédicte Le Pimpec à Nice du 15 au 18 novembre 2015

Présentation du programme ACROSS

 

ACROSS #4 – Genève > Nice, du 15 au 18 novembre 2015

Rencontre-conversation le lundi 16 novembre, à 19h00, à la galerie Le 22 (22 rue de Dijon, Nice). Accès libre et gratuit

Bénédicte Le Pimpec, commissaire d’exposition et critique d’art

Bénédicte le Pimpec (née en 1986, vit et travaille à Genève) a obtenu un DNSEP à l’école des Beaux-arts de Brest en 2009 ainsi qu’un master au sein du programme de recherche critique et curatorial de la HEAD – Genève en 2011.

En 2007, elle co-fonde Monstrare, structure qui œuvre pour la production et la diffusion de pratiques et réflexions artistiques, avec laquelle elle coordonne actuellement une résidence dans des grottes troglodytiques à Dampierre-sur-Loire (France).

Elle travaille en tant que curatrice indépendante, ses projets ont notamment pu être vus lors des expositions suivantes : REWORKS, exposition personnelle de l’artiste Alexis Guillier (Piano Nobile, 2011, Genève), Le Principe Galápagos (Palais de Tokyo, 2013, Paris), Théâtre des Opérations (Théâtre de l’Usine, 2015, Genève) ou encore darker and darker grows the landscape (la possibilité d’une île), (Le Commun, Bâtiment d’art contemporain, 2015, Genève).

Elle s’est occupée de la production et de la coordination de la première Biennale de Romainville (Romainville, 2011-2012) et a collaboré avec l’espace Piano Nobile à Genève. De 2012 à 2015 elle fut assistante d’enseignement au sein du programme « Information/fiction » de la HEAD – Genève.

Portés par la critique institutionnelle et les relations entre art et politique, ses champs de recherche se concentrent sur l’historiographie par les artistes. Elle mène sur ce sujet une étude sur le groupe d’artistes New-Yorkais REPOhistory.