ACROSS #33

Critic and curatorial residency program from Nice

Stay of Amanda Abi Khalil from 15 November to 5 December 2021
as part of the Nomadic Curatorial Residency
by Arts en résidence – Réseau national

ACROSS #33 – Nov-Dec 2021

The nomadic curatorial residency set up by Arts en résidence – Réseau national since 2016, and of which thankyouforcoming is a member, regularly offers a curator or art critic the opportunity to be hosted in several structures of the network during different stays. This year, the nomadic curatorial residency will welcome the Lebanese curator Amanda Abi Khalil, as part of the 6th season of ACROSS residencies of thankyouforcoming.

Publics events during the residency, feel free to join!

Du 20/11 au 04/12, film screening at the Narcissio (festival OVNI) of Ellipses, une conversation avec Omar Amiralay a project by Sandra Iché co-realised with Nesrine Khodr, with the collaboration of Lorde Selys and Pascale Schaer.

Thursday 25 November 2021 at 6:30 PM, talk by Amanda Abi Khalil at Villa Arson,Together in Agony we Persist (TAP) : Pratiques curatoriales et extrêmes crises.

Saturday 27 November 2021 from 10:00 to 12:30 am, round table talk Not in the same boat: Residencies / hosting artists in exile or in a state of emergency, in collaboration with On the Move, at the Narcissio, programme “La vie d’artiste”.

The Nomadic Curatorial Residency

Amanda Abi Khalil has an international practice of mediating contemporary art through curating exhibitions, public commissions and collaborations with artists, institutions, foundations and fairs, with a particular interest in the social practices of art and the questioning of the exhibition format.

She will be hosted by four members of the Arts in Residence network from September to December: Maison Salvan (Labège-Toulouse), le Centre d’arts Fernand Léger (Port de Bouc), Finis terrae – Centre d’art insulaire (Ouessant), and thankyouforcoming (Nice and French Riviera).

This residency will contribute to the research Amanda Abi Khalil has been carrying out for more than three years on the question of hospitality in the art world, exploring the fruitful tension between the expectations of the host and the hosted, but also the particular position of the curator in residence, both “guest” and “host”, i.e. invited as well as future host.

It will take place in connection with TAP (Temporary Art Platform), which Amanda Abi Khalil founded in 2014 in Beirut. This curatorial platform committed to contextual, public and social practices in contemporary art initiates artist residencies, public commissions, research projects on practices in public spaces and aims at mediation between arts, territories and societies.

This year’s residency is part of a collaboration with the French Institute of Lebanon and the NAFAS programme – 100 residencies for Lebanese artists in France, co-financed by the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Culture.
The “NAFAS” residencies (from the Arabic نفس, “breath”) represent a breathing space for Lebanese creators and cultural professionals to maintain a creative activity in the framework of cultural exchanges with France.

Amanda Abi Khalil in a few words…

Amanda Abi Khalil holds a Master’s degree in Cultural Projects in the Public Space from the University of Paris 1 (Panthéon Sorbonne) and in Sociology and Anthropology of Art from the University of Paris 7 (Paris Diderot). She has a practice of mediating contemporary art internationally through curating exhibitions, public commissions and collaborations with artists, institutions, foundations and fairs, with a particular focus on the social practices of art and the questioning of the exhibition format.
Abi Khalil has held teaching positions at several universities in Beirut. In 2016 she was nominated for ICI curatorial vision award and in 2019 she received the Soros Art Fellowship.
Since 2017 she lives between Beirut and Rio de Janeiro where she is developing a research and exhibition project on the theme of hospitality in the Global South.
Amanda Abi Khalil, Lebanese curator, founded TAP (Temporary Art Platform) in 2014 in Beirut. This curatorial platform committed to contextual, public and social practices in contemporary art initiates artist residencies, public commissions, research projects on practices in public spaces and aims at mediation between arts, territories and societies.
Following the multiple crises in Lebanon since 2019, TAP is now registered as an association loi 1901 in France.

Recent projects:
https://www.goethe.de
www.covideo19.art

ACROSS #33

Résidence critique et curatoriale à partir de Nice

Séjour d’Amanda Abi Khalil du 15 Novembre au 5 Décembre 2021
dans le cadre de la résidence curatoriale nomade
d’Arts en résidence – Réseau national

ACROSS #33 – Nov-Dec 2021

La résidence curatoriale nomade mise en place par Arts en résidence – Réseau national depuis 2016, et dont thankyouforcoming est membre, propose régulièrement à un·e commissaire d’exposition ou critique d’art d’être accueilli·e dans plusieurs structures du réseau à l’occasion de différents séjours. La résidence curatoriale nomade accueillera cette année la commissaire d’exposition libanaise Amanda Abi Khalil, le volet maralpin s’inscrivant dans la 6ème saison des résidences ACROSS de thankyouforcoming.

Evénements publics pendant la résidence

Du 20/11 au 04/12, projection au Narcissio (festival OVNI) du film Ellipses, une conversation avec Omar Amiralay un projet de Sandra Iché coréalisé avec Nesrine Khodr, avec la collaboration de Lorde Selys et Pascale Schaer.

Jeudi 25 novembre 2021 à 18h30, conférence d’Amanda Abi Khalil à la Villa Arson,Together in Agony we Persist (TAP) : Pratiques curatoriales et extrêmes crises.

Samedi 27 novembre 2021 de 10h00 à 12h30, table ronde Not in the same boat : Résidences / accueil d’artistes en exil ou en état d’urgence, en collaboration avec On the Move, au Narcissio, programme « La vie d’artiste ».

La résidence curatoriale nomade

Amanda Abi Khalil mène une pratique de médiation de l’art contemporain à l’international à travers le commissariat d’expositions, des commandes publiques et des collaborations avec des artistes, institutions, fondations et foires, s’intéressant particulièrement aux pratiques sociales de l’art et au questionnement du format d’exposition.

Elle sera accueillie par 4 membres du réseau Arts en résidence de septembre à décembre : Maison Salvan (Labège-Toulouse), le Centre d’arts Fernand Léger (Port de Bouc), Finis terrae – Centre d’art insulaire (Ouessant), et thankyouforcoming (Nice et Côte d’Azur).

Cette résidence contribuera aux recherches qu’Amanda Abi Khalil a entamées depuis plus de trois ans sur la question de l’hospitalité dans le monde de l’art, explorant la tension fructueuse entre les expectatives de celui qui accueille et de celui qui est accueilli, mais aussi la position particulière du commissaire en résidence, à la fois “guest” et “host”, c’est à dire invité comme futur accueillant.

Elle se déroulera en lien avec TAP (Temporary Art Platform), qu’Amanda Abi Khalil a fondé en 2014 à Beyrouth. Cette plateforme curatoriale engagée dans les pratiques contextuelles, publiques et sociales dans l’art contemporain est à l’initiative de résidences d’artistes, de commandes publiques, de projets de recherche sur les pratiques dans les espaces publics et vise à la médiation entre arts, territoires et sociétés.

La résidence s’inscrit cette année dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec l’Institut français du Liban et du programme NAFAS – 100 résidences d’artistes libanais en France, co-financé par le ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères et le ministère de la Culture.
Les résidences « NAFAS » (de l’arabe نفس, « souffle ») représentent une respiration pour les créateurs et professionnels de la culture libanais afin qu’ils puissent maintenir une activité de création dans le cadre d’échanges culturels avec la France.

Amanda Abi Khalil en quelques mots…

Diplômée du Master Projets Culturels dans l’Espace Public de Paris 1 (Panthéon Sorbonne) et en Sociologie et Anthropologie de l’art de Paris 7 (Paris Diderot), Amanda Abi Khalil mène une pratique de médiation de l’art contemporain à l’international à travers le commissariat d’expositions, de commandes publiques et des collaborations avec des artistes, institutions, fondations et foires focalisant particulièrement sur les pratiques sociales de l’art et le questionnement du format d’exposition.
Abi Khalil a occupé des postes d’enseignement dans plusieurs universités à Beyrouth. En 2016, elle est nominée pour ICI curatorial vision award et en 2019, elle reçoit le Soros Art Fellowship.
Depuis 2017 elle vit entre Beyrouth et Rio de Janeiro où elle développe une recherche et un projet d’exposition sur le thème de l’hospitalité dans le Sud Global.
Amanda Abi Khalil, curatrice libanaise a fondé TAP (Temporary Art Platform) en 2014 à Beyrouth. Cette plateforme curatoriale engagée dans les pratiques contextuelles, publiques et sociales dans l’art contemporain est à l’initiative de résidences d’artistes, de commandes publiques, de projets de recherche sur les pratiques dans les espaces publics et vise à la médiation entre arts, territoires et sociétés.
Suite aux multiples crises au Liban depuis 2019, TAP est désormais enregistrée comme association loi 1901 en France.

Projets récents:
https://www.goethe.de
www.covideo19.art