ACROSS #20

Critic and curatorial residency program from Nice

Stay of Thomas Geiger from 25 November to 2 December 2018

ACROSS #20 – Nov.-Dec. 2018

Thomas Geiger (1983, born in Germany, based in Austria) works as a curator and artist.

His artistic practice is based on performative and sculptural approaches that move at the intersection of public- and private/institutional spaces, seeking contact with different forms of public. His recent projects have been supported by the Fondation Ricard, Déspacio, Goethe-Institut Paris, Goethe-Institut Libanon, HEAD – Geneva, Pro-Helvetia and Atelier Mondial.

In November 2018, thankyouforcoming hosts him on the French Riviera, where he will temporarily install the KUNSTHALLE3000.

« My work is based between curatorial and artistic practice and focuses on performative and activist approaches in public space. 
A central question is, how curatorial and artistic practice in public space can operate in this field as an active part that can outline the rules, gaps, and possibility of this very space.
In 2014, I founded the Festival of Minimal Actions, a 30-day festival dedicated to the repetition of ephemeral actions in public space. So far the Festival took place in Brussels (2014), Paris (2015) and in March 2018 in San Jose, Costa Rica.
Beside, I am a co-founder of Mark Pezinger Verlag, a non-commercial platform and publishing house dedicated to artists books and experimental forms of publishing and making public. An important element in the practice of Mark Pezinger Verlag is the realization of exhibitions where the different approaches of artist‘s publications can come together. »

Since 2016, Thomas Geiger runs Kunsthalle3000, an institution as intervention in public space. Kunsthalle3000 was started in the beginning of 2016 in Vienna. As institution as intervention Kunsthalle3000 declares existing but unused “situations” within public space as Kunsthal- le and activates them for a specific time with invited artists. The project‘s aim is to transform the unused potentials of the public realm into new situations and to claim back this space for democratice use.
So far, Kunsthalle3000 took place in Vienna, Johannesburg (both 2016), Geneva and Beirut (both 2017), Paris and at the Langenhagen’s Kunstverein nearby Hanover (2018).

Corresponding to his practice, which is dedicated to public space, Thomas Geiger applied to the ACROSS residency program.
« I would like to engage and to learn about the structures and organization of public space on the French Riviera – a place definitly well known for the huge privatization of its costline and by this, for the limitation of public space. When public space gets occupied more and more by political and capitalistic interests, then the space for democratic use becomes smaller and smaller. This is why I strongly believe in the importance of artistic practice to reclaim this space – and this is also why I am also extremely curious to get to know projects/people at/from the French Rivera who are dealing with this topic.
As a condensation of these encounters, I intend to organize a one-day Kunsthalle3000 inside the public space that will take place at a “situation with unused potentials”. This place should be activated for one day together with local artists/curators/cultural workers to present performances, place interventions, talks about the possibilities, problems and ways of interacting with the public realm. Following the principles of the ancient Agora, the aim will be to create an energetic spot that brings discussion, confrontation and dialogue directly into the public sphere that opens up itself for a random audience and spontaneous interactions. »

KUNSTHALLE3000

Saturday 1st December 2018
From 3pm, in front of the former Casino de la Jetée-Promenade des Anglais
Free entrance

ACROSS #20

Résidence critique et curatoriale à partir de Nice

Séjour de Thomas Geiger du 25 novembre au 2 décembre 2018

ACROSS #20 – Nov.-Déc. 2018

Thomas Geiger (1983, né en Allemagne, basé en Autriche) est commissaire d’exposition et artiste.

Il travaille avec des approches performatives, sculpturales et éphémères, principalement dans le cadre de l’espace public.
Ses projets récents ont reçu le soutien de la Fondation Ricard, Déspacio, Goethe-Institut Paris, Goethe-Institut Libanon, la HEAD – Genève, Pro-Helvetia et Atelier Mondial.

En Novembre 2018, thankyouforcoming l’accueille sur la Côte d’Azur, où il implantera temporairement la KUNSTHALLE3000.

« Mon travail se situe entre la pratique curatoriale et artistique, et se concentre sur les approches performative et activiste de l’espace public. L’un des axes de ma recherche est de comprendre comment les pratiques curatoriale et artistique dans l’espace public peuvent prendre sur ce terrain une dimension effective, qui viendrait souligner les règles, écarts et potentiels de ces espaces.
En 2014, j’ai fondé le Festival d’Actions Minimales, un festival de 30 jours dédié à la répétition d’actions éphémères dans l’espace public. Le festival a eu lieu à Bruxelles en 2014, Paris en 2015 et s’est poursuivi en Mars 2018 à San Jose, Costa Rica.
Je suis également co-fondateur de Mark Pezinger Verlag, une plateforme à but non lucratif, maison d’édition consacrée aux livres d’artistes et aux formes expérimentales de publication et de mise en public. L’un des axes importants d’activité du Mark Pezinger Verlag est la réalisation d’expositions qui permettent de rassembler les approches et conceptions parfois divergentes de la publication d’artistes. »

Depuis 2016, Thomas Geiger développe la KUNSTHALLE3000, une institution d’interventions dans l’espace public. Kunsthalle3000 a initialement début à Vienne, Autriche, en 2016. En tant qu’institution d’interventions, Kunsthalle3000 déclare des « situations » existantes mais non mises à profit dans l’espace public comme les centres d’art, et les active pour un temps donné avec la complicité d’artistes invité·e·s. L’objectif de ce projet est de transformer les potentiels latents du domaine public en situations inédites, afin de revendiquer la possibilité d’un usage démocratique de ces espaces. Kunsthalle3000 a été activé en 2016 à Vienne et Johannesburg, en 2017 à Genève et Beirut puis en 2018 à Paris et au Kunstverein de Langenhagen, près d’Hanovre.

Thomas Geiger a postulé à la résidence ACROSS en écho direct à sa pratique artistique et curatoriale, reliée à l’espace public.
« J’aimerais découvrir les structures et acteurs locaux engagés dans une réflexion sur l’art dans l’espace public sur la Côte d’Azur, une région bien connue pour son fort taux de privatisation du domaine littoral, qui réduit d’autant l’espace dit public. Au fur et à mesure que l’espace public se trouve happé par des intérêts politiques et lucratifs, la marge réservée aux usages démocratiques se voit d’autant rognée. C’est pourquoi je crois fermement au pouvoir de l’action artistique pour imaginer une réappropriation de cet espace par les citoyens. »
Suite aux rencontres que j’aurai faites lors de mon séjour, j’ai pour projet d’organiser une version expresse de Kunsthalle3000 pendant 24h, au cœur de l’espace public. Le site où se déroulerait le festival sera activé une journée par des acteurs locaux : artistes, commissaires, organisateurs culturels etc, comme une forme d’école d’hiver pour présenter des performances, interventions in situ, conférences et discussions autour des potentiels, problématiques, et moyens d’interaction possibles avec le domaine public – pour se terminer autour d’un bon thé chaud ! Reprenant les principes de l’ancienne Agora, je souhaite créer un espace-temps énergique qui permettra échanges, confrontations et dialogues au sein-même de la sphère publique, devenue lieu d’accueil éphémère pour le public de passage et les interactions spontanées. »

KUNSTHALLE3000

Samedi 1er décembre 2018
Plus d’informations à venir
Entrée libre