Critic and curatorial residency program from Nice

Stay of Ruth Estévez from 2 to 7 April 2018

ACROSS #18 – April 2018

Ruth Estévez (Bilbao, Spain) is a curator, writer and stage designer.

Her curatorial approach is highly influenced by her interest in the historical relationship between theater and the visual arts. She likes to challenge the possibilities of the exhibition format pushing the boundaries of timing and materiality as well as the methodologies of production and presentation.

Ruth Estévez is currently gallery director and curator at REDCAT, an interdisciplinary art space founded by CalArts in Los Angeles. At REDCAT she has worked with artists including Javier Téllez, João Maria Gusmão + Pedro Paiva, Allora & Calzadilla, Pedro Barateiro, Quinn Latimer, Héctor Zamora, Andrés Jaque among many others, and curated group exhibitions and public programs as Agency (Assembly: Before and After the Split Second Recorded) related to issues of copyright protection in ephemeral practices; Hotel Theory (2015), (curated with Sohrab Mohebbi) focusing on the performance of theory in contemporary art; Chalk Circles (2017), (an exhibition co-curated with Jose Luis Blondet), analyzing acting methodologies in the 20th century based on mixed traditions of movement and gesture, as well as pedagogic models. Most recently she opened a project dedicated to the unexplored theatrical work of groundbreaking Latin American artist León Ferrari. Exhibition that will travel to PAMM in Miami, and in its performative shape to MNCARS in Madrid (2018). Ruth Estévez has contributed to numerous exhibition catalogues and art publications, and has independently organized exhibitions in Spain, France, Belgium, Brazil, Argentina and Mexico.

Before REDCAT she was the Chief Curator at the Carrillo Gil museum in Mexico City, where she also founded LIGA, Space for architecture, a non-for-profit platform focused on experimentation in architecture and urbanism. With LIGA, she recently curated (in collaboration with Wonne Ickx) the exhibition Spaces without Drama (2017) at the Graham Foundation in Chicago, an exhibition exploring the relationship between architecture and theater.

Ruth Estévez was born in Bilbao, Basque Country, although she considers Mexico City, where she lived for almost 12 years her second home. Currently she lives in Los Angeles, USA.

ACROSS #18

Résidence critique et curatoriale à partir de Nice

Séjour de Ruth Estévez du 2 au 7 Avril 2018

ACROSS #18 – Avril 2018

Ruth Estévez (Bilbao, Espagne) est curatrice, auteure et scénographe.

Son approche curatoriale est fortement influencée par l’intérêt qu’elle porte à l’histoire de la relation entre le théâtre et les arts visuels. Elle aime imaginer d’autres possibles dans le format de l’exposition, repoussant les limites temporelles et celles de la matérialité, mais aussi celles des méthodologies de production et de présentation.

Ruth Estévez est actuellement directrice et curatrice à la galerie REDCAT, à Los Angeles, un lieu interdisciplinaire consacré à l’art et fondé par CalArts. Dans le cadre de REDCAT, elle a travaillé avec des artistes comme Javier Téllez, João Maria Gusmão + Pedro Paiva, Allora & Calzadilla, Pedro Barateiro, Quinn Latimer, Héctor Zamora ou encore Andrés Jaque. Elle a également assuré le commissariat d’expositions collectives et de programmations publiques, dans le cadre de l’initiative Agency (Assembly: Before and After the Split Second Recorded) en lien avec des thématiques de protection des droits d’auteurs dans le cadre de pratiques éphémères, mais aussi en co-commissariat avec Sohrab Mohebbi pour Hotel Theory (2015), centré sur la performance de la théorie dans l’art contemporain, ou encore avec José Luis Blondet pour Chalk Circles (2017), une exposition qui analysait les méthodologies du jeu d’acteur au 20e siècle à la lumière de traditions mêlées du geste et du mouvement, ainsi que de différents modèles pédagogiques. Plus récemment, elle a amorcé un projet consacré à l’œuvre théâtrale inexplorée de León Ferrari, un artiste argentin particulièrement novateur. Cette exposition voyagera jusqu’à Miami, où elle sera présentée au PAMM puis – sous une forme performative – au Musée national centre d’art Reina Sofía (MNCARS), à Madrid. En tant que curatrice indépendante, Ruth Estévez a en outre organisé des expositions en Espagne, en Belgique, au Brésil, en Argentine et au Mexique.

Avant de rejoindre REDCAT, elle occupait le poste de Chief Curator au musée Carrillo Gil de Mexico, où elle a également fondé la plateforme à but non lucratif « LIGA, Space for architecture », qui s’intéresse à l’expérimentation en matière d’architecture et d’urbanisme. Dans le cadre de LIGA, elle a récemment assuré (en collaboration avec Wonne Ickx) le commissariat de l’exposition Spaces without Drama (2017) à la Graham Foundation de Chicago, un projet qui explore la relation entre architecture et théâtre.

Ruth Estévez est originaire de Bilbao, au Pays basque espagnol, même si elle considère Mexico (où elle a vécu près de 12 ans) comme sa « deuxième maison ». Elle vit aujourd’hui aux États-Unis, à Los Angeles.

CHALK CIRCLES

Jeudi 5 avril 2018, à 19h00
Librairie Vigna, 3 rue Delille, Nice
Entrée libre