ACROSS #15

Critic and curatorial residency program from Nice

Stay of Lorenzo Bruni from 24 to 28 January 2018

ACROSS #15 – January 2018

Lorenzo Bruni (1976, Florence, Italy) is an independent art critic and curator. Since 2000, he is the coordinator of the non-profit space BASE / Progetti per l’arte in Florence.
In 2017 he began teaching with AANT – Academy of Art and New Technologies in Rome, where he taught the History of Art and Visual Arts, and Graphic Design. In the same year, he curated the exhibition The fragment as an instrument with Piero Gilardi, Maria Thereza Alves and Øystein Aasan at the Galleria Enrico Astuni in Bologna and has created the book and the exhibition entitled Measurements on Eliseo Mattiacci for the Poggiali Gallery in Florence.

In 2016, he was a consultant for the new opening of the Pecci Museum in Prato under the direction of Fabio Cavallucci and he also published the book 66/16 on the dematerialization of the work of art from the 1960s to today (Sputnik Edition in English and in Italian with Giacomo Prearo Editore). In 2015, he taught Aesthetics of New Media at the Academies of Bologna and Florence. In addition, he managed the collective exhibition with international artists of different generations Raccontare un luogo at the Galleria Astuni in Bologna and a group show at the GAM in Palermo with Gianni Pettena (“radical architect”) and Marc William Zanghi. In the same year, Fortino Edition published the book Parole, site specific and the change in the perception of visual art from the Nineties to today.

In previous years he was the curator for different Italian and foreign museum institutions including KARST, Plymouth, Uk; RISO Museum, Palermo; KCCC, Klaipeda, Lithuania; HISK, Ghent, Belgium; Lanfranco Baldi Foundation, Florence; Musée d’art moderne de Saint-Etienne Métropole, France. His curatorial research practice led him to create different cycles of exhibitions intended as platforms for theoretical and practical reflection, which later became essays for books and articles. These include the idea of ​​contemporary landscape, the journey back to the era of Google Maps, the temporality of contemporary sculpture, the abstract painting tradition after the spread of digital screens, the interactions between performance, video and sound, design up to that – realizing the cycle of exhibitions from 2005 to 2009 in the space of ViaNuova contemporary art of Florence – on the legacy of modernism.

FRAGMENTS AS A TOOL
Memory and Archeology in Contemporary art

Friday 26 January, at 8:00PM
Artists’ films screening
(Maria Thereza Alves, Rossella Biscotti, Uriel Orlow and Ulla Von Brandenburg)
Le Narcissio, 16 rue Parmentier, Nice
Free entrance

ACROSS #15

Résidence critique et curatoriale à partir de Nice

Séjour de Lorenzo Bruni du 24 au 28 Janvier 2018

ACROSS #15 – Janvier 2018

Lorenzo Bruni (1976, Florence, Italie) est critique d’art et curateur indépendant. Depuis 2000, il coordonne le projet BASE / Progetti per l’arte, à Florence.

Depuis 2017, il est enseignant à l’Académie des arts et des nouvelles technologies (AANT) de Rome, pour les cours d’histoire de l’art et des arts visuels ainsi que de graphic design. La même année, il a assuré à la Galleria Enrico Astuni de Bologne le commissariat de l’exposition Il frammento come strumento (« Le fragment comme instrument »), avec les artistes Maria Thereza Alves, Øystein Aasan et Piero Gilardi. On lui doit également l’ouvrage et l’exposition intitulés Misurazioni (« Mesures »), autour d’Eliseo Mattiacci, pour la galerie Poggiali de Florence.

En 2016, il est intervenu en tant que consultant pour l’ouverture du musée Pecci de Prato, sous la direction de Fabio Cavallucci. La même année, il publiait aussi l’ouvrage 66/16, sur la dématérialisation de l’œuvre d’art des années 1960 à nos jours (chez Sputnik Edition en version anglaise, et avec Giacomo Prearo Editore pour la version italienne). En 2015, Lorenzo Bruni a enseigné l’esthétique des nouveaux médias à l’académie des beaux-arts de Bologne et de Florence. Dans le même temps, il organisait l’exposition collective – et intergénérationnelle – d’artistes internationaux Raccontare un luogo à la galerie Astuni, à Bologne, ainsi qu’une autre exposition collective au GAM de Palerme, aux côtés de Gianni Pettena (« architecte radical ») et Marc William Zanghi. En 2015 toujours, Fortino Edizioni publiait son ouvrage Parole, site specific e il mutamento della percezione dell’arte visiva dagli anni Novanta a oggi (sur les transformations de la perception des arts visuels depuis les années quatre-vingt-dix).

Dans les années qui ont précédé, Lorenzo Bruni est intervenu comme curateur pour différents musées et institutions, en Italie et à l’étranger, notamment pour KARST (Plymouth, Royaume-Uni), le RISO (Palerme), KCCC (Klaipeda, Lituanie), le HISK (Gent, Belgique), la Fondazione Lanfranco Baldi (Florence) ou le Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Saint-Etienne Métropole (France). Sa pratique de recherche curatoriale l’a conduit à mettre en place différents cycles d’expositions, qui étaient conçus comme des plateformes pour servir de support à la réflexion pratique et théorique et ont ensuite donné lieu à des livres ou à des articles. Parmi les thèmes abordés, l’idée d’un paysage contemporain, le retour à l’ère de Google Maps, la temporalité de la sculpture contemporaine, la tradition de la peinture abstraite à l’heure de l’omniprésence des écrans numériques, le design, les interactions entre la performance, la vidéo et le son, ou encore le cycle des expositions présentées entre 2005 et 2009 dans l’espace de Via Nuova Arte Contemporanea, sur l’héritage du modernisme.

FRAGMENTS AS A TOOL
Memory and Archeology in Contemporary art

Vendredi 26 janvier, à 20h00
Soirée de projections de films d’artistes
(Maria Thereza Alves, Rossella Biscotti, Uriel Orlow et Ulla Von Brandenburg)
Le Narcissio, 16 rue Parmentier, Nice
Entrée libre