ACROSS #12

Critic and curatorial residency program from Nice

Stay of Julia Geerlings in July 2017

ACROSS #12 – July 2017

Julia Geerlings (1985 – The Netherlands) is a freelance curator and writer based in Amsterdam and Paris.
She studied Art History at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and the Freie Universität Berlin. Geerlings writes regularly for Metropolis M, Tubelight, Museumtijdschrift and recently Frieze about the Dutch and French art scenes and she contributed to several publications: like the Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten catalogue and Kunsthuis SYB biennial catalogue.
Geerlings became specialized in presenting contemporary art at unusual locations like a medieval church, a brutalist church, a canal house and a fortress a.o. In her curatorial practice, she has been influenced by the notions of ‘context responsive curating’, where the location and context (social, economic and political aspects) are included in the development of the project.
She is currently curator of Nachtelijke Dwalingen (Night Dwellings), the performance program at Oude Kerk Amsterdam, guest curator at Kunstfort in Vijfhuizen, tutor at Hogeschool voor de Kunsten Utrecht (school of Fine Arts Utrecht) and committee member at CBK Rotterdam Research & Development subsidy for artists.
From October 2016 to April 2017, she will be in New York for a residency at ISCP for six months.

TAKE A WALK ON THE WILD SIDE

Thursday 13 July, at sunset
Meeting point: Square in front of Nice Train Station

ACROSS #12

Résidence critique et curatoriale à partir de Nice

Séjour de Julia Geerlings en juillet 2017

ACROSS #12 – July 2017

Julia Geerlings (1985 – Pays-Bas) est commissaire d’exposition indépendante et auteure, vit et travaille à Amsterdam et Paris.
Julia Geerlings est diplômée d’Histoire de l’art de la Vrije Universiteit d’Amsterdam et de la Freie Universität de Berlin. Geerlings écrit régulièrement pour Metropolis M, Tubelight, Museumtijdschrift et plus récemment dans Frieze, où elle a proposé une lecture des scènes artistiques hollandaises et françaises. Elle a également contribué à plusieurs publications : le catalogue Rijksakademie voor Beeldende Kunsten, celui de la biennale Kunsthuis SYB…
Les propositions curatoriales de Julia Geerlings prennent place dans des architectures ou environnements inhabituels, comme une église médiévale, une église brutaliste, une «canal house» (maison de bord de canal à l’architecture typique d’Amsterdam) ou encore une forteresse. Sa pratique curatoriale est influencée par les enjeux du ‘context responsive curating’, dans lequel la prise en compte des lieux et contextes (social, économique, politique) est déterminante dans l’écriture des projets.
Geerlings est actuellement commissaire de Nachtelijke Dwalingen (Demeures nocturnes), programme de performances de Oude Kerk (plus ancienne église d’Amsterdam), commissaire invitée du Kunstfort (bunker) de Vijfhuizen, enseignante à l’école des beaux-arts d’Utrecht et membre du comité de recherche et développement des subventions d’artistes au CBK Rotterdam.
D’octobre 2016 à avril 2017, elle est commissaire invitée en résidence à l’ISCP (International Studio & Curatorial Program) de New York.